of hooping and changes

it’s almost the end of january but i’m still mentally recapping the last year. so much has changed and all for the better, or at least towards the better. i’m still feeling a little whiplash at the speed of life, though. still reeling a bit. my babies are all growing so fast!

i’m very happy with all the newness in my little corner of the universe. 2012 is going to be a beautiful year, i can already feel it. it feels like spring is nearly here with the warm winter we’re having.

lots of exciting things are happening.

gardening has also been on the brain a lot. i so missed gardening this last summer. especially after reading my friend emily’s blog last night. she’s incredible!

my newest hobby is hula hooping. it’s so addictive and enjoyable. there are also a lot of health benefits to hooping! i made all my own hoops and i’ve been watching tons of tutorials on you tube to increase my skills and i can’t wait for summer to hoop outside all day and make videos!
this video is what i’m going to learn:

here’s my own knee hooping video:

and then, there is also fire hooping in my future. oh, hells yes!

my hoops.

all the kids have hoops too.

i’m knitting calorimetry with some gorgeous yarn dyed by my friend chelsea of plum street fiber. this is the third project i’ve started with this yarn and i think it’s finally met it’s destiny.

i’ve been reading the dhammapada here and there. i really enjoy buddhist philosophy. i don’t know if i’ll ever really practice serious buddhism but i appreciate the insight and wisdom in the writings of the buddha.

i’ve been working on accepting what i believe. or, don’t believe, more accurately. there has been a slow paradigm shift over the last three years from me fully believing the religion i was raised with to gradually embracing doubt and uncertainty. everything makes sense to me now. i feel like i’m on my true path. i have never felt more happy, content, and at peace with the world. and with myself. we tend to define ourselves so narrowly by the beliefs that we cling to. it somehow makes us feel safe. (this is a delusion). i think it is the major cause for hate, and judgement, and prejudices in our world. we need to let our opinions be softer, less harsh. none of us are perfect. we need more kindness, more true love. i feel like so many of us hate ourselves subconsciously because we don’t measure up to society’s/the media’s standards. whether it’s about how we look or how much money we make, where we live…we’re always being told it’s not good enough, that we need more. or different. we live in a selfish and greedy society especially in america. i want to change my tiny contribution to society to one of love and acceptance, contentment and joy. i reject the notion that material things can make me happy or successful or valuable, and embrace the concept that i am intrinsically valuable. i am worthy of happiness and love. and that i am connected to every living being in the world. we are all valuable and worthy of peace, bliss, and utter contentment. my mission is to take that vibe wherever i go, starting in my home with my family. i don’t think i’ll ever make a huge impact on the world, but, even a tiny grain of sand dropped into water makes ripples. i’m blithely optimistic and i think if we all could start truly loving and accepting ourselves we could have a real revolution.

it’s all about perspective.

About Mostly Hippie Mama

I'm a believer in attachment parenting, eating real food, unschooling, being honest, homebirth, natural medicine, hard work, doing it yourself, being frugal and that being in the wilderness is the best way to find yourself. I love my family and living life.
This entry was posted in activities, life, philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to of hooping and changes

  1. Emily says:

    so many changes! i loved reading your passage about your new beliefs and values…i’m totally on board with that. and hooray new blog!

    oh, and i had picked out that same knitting pattern to make! it’s one of my next projects if i can ever get over the burnout from all my xmas knitting. can’t wait to see how yours turns out.

    • thank you!
      that knitting pattern is so fast and easy! i’ve already cast on my second one!
      i took a pretty long break from knitting before this though. and cleaned my house every day. bahaha!

Leave a Reply

